Marriage -be it arrange or love.

The most common question a 26-year-old faces is when are you getting married ? Arent your parent’s looking for a groom ? Are you seeing someone ? So on and so forth …. At times I give an excuse and at times I offer the truth.

What is the rush of getting married ? O wait my biological clock is ticking , I am not getting any younger by the day and majorly the choice of groom available for me are those so-called leftovers. Are you serious about these statements ? If this is the environment I am living in then, I rather be an outcast. As an individual you have a choice , if you are financially independent,confident and educated ; then you can achieve anything you want. don’t get bullied by the so-called society norms.

If you are getting married then you are putting your life on hold! NO, that’s not what I am stating , if you found the right guy or girl , then go for it. However if you are unsure about the future , then yes waiting is the better option than regretting the mistake. You have to understand that it is not just your life that you are ruining , there are other lives involved too. In last 4 years 6 of my friends got married and 5 of them filled for divorce, some of the reasons for divorce are beyond my imagination. I remember my meetings with these friends and their family during the trials the expression on their face , the disappointment in their eyes was clear ( it sent shivers down my spine & I couldn’t stop crying) and at times it took a toll on their health too. What I am trying to tell you is take your time in making this decision, it’s important one as it not only involves you and your family but also others and their emotions.

I am not ready for marriage and I know that very well , pressure from society or parents & friends will not change my decision till I feel I am ready . If you think you are ready for the responsibility then go for it , but if you are not – hold your horses. Making mistakes is not wrong either, I also acknowledge that there is always a possibility that things might not work out in future. There are people who gotten divorces less than few months into marriage , even though they courted each other for several years before marriage. Life offers a variety of unfortunate events and lessons , learn from them . What I am trying to tell you is be wise while making your decision , weigh both the pro’s and con’s . It’s a very simple question and yet powerful – are you ready ?.Understand yourself and acknowledge your needs, then select the right option.

Sometimes waiting makes sense and sometimes it doesn’t.I just don’t wanna be a reason of pain for others.hence I chose to wait and watch.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Leave a comment